Using Summer to Organize Life

by Photos8.com

This year I plan to be more organized with my  musings. Over the past six years, I have kept a Word file, wrote things in a little notebook, wrote on post-its, tagged things in Evernote, and finally reflecting was reduced to thinking on my long commutes and during Sunday Night Insomnia. Anyone else have Sunday Night Insomnia? Not the point.

Summer is winding down, so it seemed like a good time to create this so that it’s ready and I don’t have to mess with it when I have 60 papers to grade, dishes to do, and projects to work on.

Organization isn’t my strong point, and everything I touch seems to fly directly to the Bermuda Triangle. I swear it’s not me…dark forces are at work! Paperless. That’s my goal. While not quite as satisfying and writing on a nice piece of crisp paper, here are my favorite tech tools of the summer.

  1. Evernote: Everyone has heard of it, but do you use it? I organized my 7-12 curriculum down to the lesson plans. More on that in a future post.
  2. Pinterest: Enough said. Seriously though, I’m a very visual person, so it helps to actually see a picture of what I’m looking for. Not to mention, it’s pretty, organized, and enlightening. Yes, enlightening (I hate that word). I’ve been able to see what other teachers think is helpful, and now I can incorporate that into my own classroom. One teacher I know went as far as posting on Facebook that she felt Pinterest made her a better person.
  3. Google Reader: I subscribe to feeds from a lot of blogs, like 
  4. Google Docs: I’m planning on using Google docs, Google forms, and Google calendar a lot this year.

What tech tools do you use to get ready for the school year?

Thoughts?

